The Main Squeeze ‘Without a Sound’

By / July 21, 2017

The Main Squeeze are here to stay.

The Main Squeeze has been a band whose albums have been in solid rotation on my stereo since they first burst onto the scene with 2011’s First Drops. Subsequently, their releases The Main Squeeze and Mind Your Head reaffirmed how I already felt, that this band is here to stay. Enter their fourth studio record, Without a Sound, which shows that the band has transformed into a group worthy not only of jam scene fame, but also of mainstream success. The following is a track-by-track review of their latest and most ambitious effort to date:

Track Listing:


  • A perfectly smooth entry that gives the listener an idea of what’s to come. The track sets the tone for the entire record, featuring a supremely catchy bass line from Rob Walker.


  • Other than possibly “Sweat,” this is the most single-ready tune on the record. A jam that you can blast from your boombox strolling down the beaches of L.A. I really can’t picture this song anywhere else.


  • A captivating instrumental. Reuben Gingrich shows off the versatility of his drum kit underneath a sweeping synthesizer lick.

“Get at Me”

  • Plain and simple. Corey Frye’s flashes emphatic lyrics, Smiley Silverstein lays a dirty groove on the keys, and Gingrich makes his drums sound as versatile as I can remember.

“Nobody Better (feat. Zel)”

  • Zel’s opening melody is beautiful, capitalized by the outstanding harmonies between her and Frye. The tune showcases two exemplary vocalists, with additional touches from Max Newman on guitar. His tone as a compliment to Zel and Frye sounds flawless.

“That Feelin’”

  • I am catapulted to a roller rink in the 70’s. Supreme low-end, grooved out drums, Frye hitting every note while Newman plays funk-style rhythms as a compliment.


  • If “That Feelin’” got me to that 70’s roller rink, then “Sweat” is the tune that had me strapping on the blades and busting out all the moves. The second chorus into the breakdown, back to the ending chorus, has the potential to bring down the house at every live show The Squeeze play from here to eternity.

“Without a Sound”

  • Most versatile track on the album with the tones from each member being phenomenal. The breakdowns are grooved in a special way, especially at the end.

“Only Time”

  • Huge sound here with a strong feature by Newman on guitar. Frye stretches out his vocals and shows listeners how powerful his voice can be. I especially love Gingrich’s low snare during the guitar solo.

“Smoker’s Interlude”

  • Exactly that. A drum and guitar driven track with a laid-back groove.


  • One of multiple singles and most likely the heaviest tune on the record. Featuring another mesmerizing solo from Newman, this is just an all-around strong entry from Squeeze.


  • The closer, with a continuation of the groove from “That Feelin’.” This track ends the album similarly to how it began, putting a cap on an outstanding effort.

The Main Squeeze made a move to Los Angeles from their stomping grounds in the midwest, and this record is direct evidence of their new and inspiring city. If one is new to The Main Squeeze, they will have a chance to catch them on their fall tour as they begin in Oklahoma City in August and move throughout the southeast. They will finish up with a run through DC, Maryland, Philadelphia, New Jersey, and New York before rounding out the tour in their hometown of Bloomington.


Ben “Smiley” Silverstein - Keys

Max Newman – Guitar

Corey Frye – Vocals

Rob Walker – Bass

Reuben Gingrich – Drums

Release Date

April 28, 2017

About the author