Prince’s Estate Announces ‘Piano & A Microphone 1983’ Album

By Stu Kelly / June 7, 2018

On what would have been Prince’s 60 birthday, today Prince’s estate announced details to release an intimate live album, in conjunction with Warner Bros. titled Piano & A Microphone 1983. The new album was recorded during a rehearsal at Prince’s home studio in Chanhassen, Minnesota and is set to be released on September 21 this year. 

 The album also includes a cover of Joni Mitchell’s “A Case of You” and a versions of “Purple Rain,” which at the time was still unreleased. Listen to a soulful version of “Mary Don’t You Weep” and check out the full track listing below.

Piano & A Microphone: 1983:

01 17 Days
02 Purple Rain
03 A Case Of You
04 Mary Don’t You Weep
05 Strange Relationship
06 International Lover
07 Wednesday
08 Cold Coffee & Cocaine
09 Why The Butterflies

About the author

Stu Kelly