Gov’t Mule Detail New Album ‘Peace … Like a River’ and Share Single “Dreaming Out Loud”

By Stu Kelly / April 6, 2023

Gov’t Mule recently shared details about their 12th studio album titled Peace … Like A River and shared the first single “Dreaming Out Loud” featuring Ivan Neville and Ruthie Foster

The band’s new album will be released via Fantasy Records on June 16. The quartet has been busy in the studio working on the new album, which includes a bevy of guests. In addition to Ivan Neville (Dumpstaphunk) and Ruthie Foster, Billy F Gibbons (ZZ Top), Celisse (Ghosts of the Forrest), and actor Billy Bob Thornton also make contributions. Band leader Warren Haynes had glowing remarks about Mule’s new body of work. 

Peace … Like A River is very ambitious from a musical arrangement standpoint in the way that a lot of the songs take twists and turns that are not common in today’s pop music world,” said Warren Haynes in a press release. “At the same time, it’s very much a song record and covers a lot of ground, stylistically speaking. Song for song, maybe my favorite one.”

The deluxe edition of Peace … Like a River (available on CD only) includes the album’s 12 tracks, plus a five-track EP titled Time of the Signs that includes four more songs plus an alternate version of “The River Only Flows One Way” with Haynes on lead vocals.

Gov’t Mule is scheduled to embark on a 2023 tour that begins May 5 in New Orleans, followed by dates in Nashville, Dallas, Atlanta, and more. More information can be found on the band’s official website. Listen to Gov’t Mule’s “Dreaming Out Loud” and watch a trailer for the new album below.

Gov’t Mule, ‘Peace … Like a River,’ Track Listing

1. “Same As It Ever Was”
2. “Shake Our Way Out” (ft. Billy F Gibbons)
3. “Made My Peace”
4. “Peace I Need”
5. “Your Only Friend”
6. “Dreaming Out Loud” (ft. Ivan Neville and Ruthie Foster)
7. “Head Full of Thunder”
8. “The River Only Flows One Way” (ft. Billy Bob Thornton)
9. “After the Storm”
10. “Just Across the River” (ft. Celisse)
11. “Long Time Coming”
12. “Gone Too Long”

Deluxe Edition (CD Only) – ‘Time of the Signs’ EP Track Listing

1. “Stumblebum”
2. “Under the Tent”
3. “Time Stands Still”
4. “Blue, Blue Wind”
5. “The River Only Flows One Way” (WH vocals)

About the author

Stu Kelly