Prince Estate Announces New Album From The Vault ‘Welcome 2 America’

By Stu Kelly / April 8, 2021

Earlier today the Prince estate announced plans to release a new studio album titled Welcome 2 America on July 30 via Sony’s Legacy Recordings. The album was originally recorded in 2010 but never released. According to the announcement, the album is “a powerful creative statement that documents Prince’s concerns, hopes, and visions for a shifting society, presciently foreshadowing an era of political division, disinformation, and a renewed fight for racial justice.” The title track, “Welcome 2 America,” is streaming now on several platforms including Spotify and Apple Music.

Shortly after Prince completed recording the 2010 Welcome 2 America album, he embarked on a tour of the same name that included multiple performances in several US cities. Prince concluded the tour with his infamous “21 Nite Stand” at The Forum in Inglewood, California. Prince played more than 80 concerts on the “Welcome 2 America” tour between 2010-2012, but he never explained why he shelved the accompanying Welcome 2 America studio album.

Prince’s vault at Paisley Park, his studio complex/residence outside of Minneapolis, is thought to contain hundreds — or potentially even thousands — of unreleased songs. This release marks the first full studio album comprised of songs from his vault that’s not released as a compilation. 

The deluxe edition of Welcome 2 America will include the complete studio vault album on both CD and black vinyl (accompanied with a high-resolution digital download) plus a never-before-released full concert video of Prince’s April 28, 2011 show at The Forum.”60 Minutes” correspondent Jon Wertheim got a preview of the album as well as the story behind its making which will be airing this Sunday on CBS.

Check out the title track and track listing below. Fans can pre-order the album here


Prince – Welcome 2 America 

  1. Welcome 2 America
  2. Running Game (Son of a Slave Master)
  3. Born 2 Die
  4. 1000 Light Years From Here
  5. Hot Summer
  6. Stand Up and B Strong *
  7. Check The Record
  8. Same Page, Different Book
  9. When She Comes
  10. 1010 (Rin Tin Tin)
  11. Yes
  12. One Day We Will All B Free

* Soul Asylum cover

About the author

Stu Kelly